Tack point & lower limit mark on double luff (pocket luff) sails

A M 
Question Details

When the foot of a double luff sail falls below the lower limit mark, does it comply with the class rules?

Answer

The class rules (Marblehead and A Class) require that the tack point shall not be set below the upper edge of the lower limit mark. The tack point is normally aft of the mast spar but on a double luff sail (specifically a pocket luff sail) it may be forward of the mast spar. In this case it may be that the foot of the sail overlaps the lower limit mark (as shown on the diagram). There is no requirement in either class rule that the foot of the sail shall be above the lower limit mark.

A sail set as shown in the diagram complies with the class rules.

tack point_and_lower_limit_mark